Updates on Front Page Data March 2008

After a few of my recent discussions and book signings, readers asked if I had updated the material since I launched the project. So I decided to take one day, March 4, 2008, and do a simple content analysis, counting the number of stories on the front page, with the number of features. As you can see below, three newspapers– Louisville Courier Journal, San Antonio Express News and the Seattle Times– had all news stories on the front page, with two large newspapers, Chicago Tribune and New York Times showing 80 percent of stories on the front page as features. The trend continues with most papers having a large percentage of stories on the front page, with some only three having no features at all.    Updates Front Pages 3/4/08 Features vs. Hard News  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Features, Media, News, Newspapers, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Updates on Front Page Data March 2008

  1. sytczl vjdl nmlyg cjmxbwfnz pgqjublm xfalumvy bfqtkm

  2. Hello Michele,
    I’m very happy to find your site after stumbling around http://www.WVC.com. I really need some courage so I’ll save your site as link and return often! Recently I started trying to put a community newspaper together. I have no money and no employees but I’ve edited college papers and worked three years as a freelancer on a community paper. This all must be on a shoe string as I’m a single Mom and on bad days makes me wonder if finally went around the bend. No matter! Publishing a paper is something I must do. Sorry I can’t go to your seminars…..Keep posting! Tricia

Leave a Reply

